





## **Vehicle Safety Inspection Program Bulletin**

**ASED-013** 

**Date:** January 01, 2019

**Bulletin:** All Inspection Station Personnel

**From:** Automotive Safety Enforcement Division

**RE:** Inspection Mechanic Written and Demonstrated Ability Examinations

**Written Examination -** The Maryland State Inspection Mechanic test is now an automated test offered at all full service MVA locations, Monday – Saturday (except where noted). The test for Maryland State Inspection Mechanic will be taken in the MVA Law Room in the same manner that MVA gives driver's license written exams. **NOTE:** The test will **not** be available at the Columbia, Parkville, Walnut Hill, or Oakland MVA locations.

Prior to written examination at the MVA Law Room, the applicant must visit the MSIS website, <a href="https://egov.maryland.gov/msp/OnlineLicensing/#/home">https://egov.maryland.gov/msp/OnlineLicensing/#/home</a>, to register and pay for the examination(s) they wish to take. After registration and payment, the applicant will receive a confirmation of payment receipt that will show proof of payment and the approved examinations the applicant can take. The examination fee to the applicant is \$15.00 with an additional surcharge of \$0.45 for each examination session for a total of \$15.45.

A person applying to the Division to be approved as an inspection mechanic must register for the General Inspection Examination, and the examination(s) for the specific class of vehicle(s) they are attempting to qualify for. Applicants may register for up to three examinations per session. Current inspection mechanics seeking to qualify for additional classes of vehicle inspections need only take the specific examination(s) for the additional classes of vehicles they are attempting to qualify to inspect. The applicant is only allowed to take the Mechanic Inspection Examinations they registered for at the time of payment. These approved examinations are listed as paid for on their receipt. Additional examinations cannot be added to their testing session once they are at the MVA Law Room. If the applicant does take additional examinations they didn't register and pay for prior to







## Vehicle Safety Inspection Program Bulletin

examination, MSP will not count their test score for that unauthorized examination.

The applicant's Mechanic Inspection tests are currently required to be scheduled through the MVA website; Schedule MVA Law Testing

- Applicants with Out of state license will need to use "First Time Driver/ID Service" to register
  - Then use the "Apply for Learner's Permit to register for the exam.
- Applicants with Maryland Driver's license will use "First Time Driver/ID Service"
  - Then will use "Retake Learner's Permit Test"

Persons passing the written inspection mechanics examinations will be required to pass a demonstrative ability examination within six (6) months of passing the written examinations before being approved by the Division. A new applicant, or an inspection mechanic adding a class, may not perform vehicle safety inspections until the Demonstrated Ability Examination(s) is successfully completed.

**Demonstrated Ability Examination** - A person applying to the Division to be approved as an inspection mechanic must successfully pass the required written examinations prior to undergoing Demonstrated Ability Examination for the specific class(es) of vehicle(s). There are separate examinations for each class of vehicle. ASED personnel will notify the applicant of the date when the Demonstrative Ability Examination will be conducted, providing the applicant sufficient time to prepare for the examination(s). Unless there are extenuating circumstances, the demonstrative ability examination will be scheduled within thirty (30) days of passing the written examination. There is a four (4) hour time limit for each examination administered. Three (3) attempts will be given per day. Three (3) unsuccessful attempts will require a six-month waiting period before the reexamination process may be attempted again.

This examination will generally be administered by the supervisor or supervising Trooper/VSI in the area of the inspection station where the mechanic is scheduled to work. The examination will require the person to physically display their ability to conduct a proper inspection using the proper class of vehicle. The proper class of vehicle must be







## **Vehicle Safety Inspection Program Bulletin**

present at the location of the demonstrative ability examination. ASED vehicles will not be utilized as the demonstration vehicle. Division personnel may clarify answers or supply Division interpretation or procedure during the examination, but will not offer direct instruction or training during these events.

Once the written and demonstrated ability examinations are successfully completed the mechanic will be placed active and may conduct vehicle safety inspections on their applicable class(es) of vehicles. To remain active, inspection mechanics are required to conduct at least one complete inspection every six (6) month period, for each class of vehicle they are authorized to inspect. If the person has not completed a full inspection in a six (6) month period, they will be placed in an inactive status and must successfully complete written and demonstrative ability examinations before being returned to active status. (A complete inspection does not include a re-inspection or an SERO certification.)

**Transfer Demonstrated Ability Examination** - An inspection mechanic transferring to another inspection station must be examined by Division personnel to ensure the inspection mechanic has the tools and equipment knowledge and ability to properly utilize the tools and equipment at the new inspection station. Three (3) attempts will be provided for examination of tools and equipment knowledge and ability. No more than two attempts will be given per day. Three (3) unsuccessful attempts will place the inspection mechanic inactive, and will require a six-month waiting period before the mechanic may begin the reexamination process to be approved as an inspection mechanic.

**Re-Examination of Inspection Mechanic** - An inspection mechanic is subject to investigation and periodic re-examinations if there is sufficient justification to warrant it. Division personnel will consult with their supervisor prior to conducting any periodic re-examinations to review the justification and ensure fairness in the Division's actions. Three consecutive failures of any periodic re-examination will require at least a six (6) month waiting period before being eligible to start the process over to become an inspection mechanic.

If you have additional questions, please feel free to contact ASED at: 410-768-7388 or MSP.ASED@maryland.gov